Johnny Depp Lists a Five-Penthouses

21 Sep

Wealthy buyers often combine units to create a large home. Actor Johnny Depp took another tack when he bought five adjacent penthouses in downtown Los Angeles: He kept them largely separate, living in them “like rooms in a home,” according to real-estate agent Kevin Dees of Partners Trust. Now Mr. Depp is putting his unusual spread on the market for $12.78 million.

Mr. Depp’s five condo units—four two-bedrooms and one one-bedroom—are perched atop the Eastern Columbia Building, a circa 1930 art deco structure known for its four-sided clock tower, said Mr. Dees, who is listing the property with colleague Nick Segal.

According to public records, Mr. Depp bought the condos from the developer for about $7.2 million in a series of transactions between 2007 and 2008. He then left the layout of each apartment as it was. He added doorways connecting three of the units, which he used as his living and entertaining space, while the other two served as an art studio and a guest suite.

Mr. Dees said the units, which total about 11,500 square feet, can be purchased together or separately, but declined to specify the prices of the individual apartments. He added that the units can be easily separated if a buyer prefers.

The home has several private terraces, and the walls are painted in vibrant blues and greens that mirror the building’s colorful exterior. One wall is covered with a mural by Brazilian street artists Osgemeos . Mr. Depp chose to keep the units separate because he didn’t want to disrupt the “integrity” of the spaces, said Mr. Dees.

The move comes a few months after Mr. Depp relisted his compound in the South of France for around $56 million—more than double its previous asking price. Last month, the actor reached a divorce agreement with actress Amber Heard, who announced that she would donate her $7 million settlement to charity.

Mr. Dees declined to comment on whether the divorce is a reason Mr. Depp is selling the home. He said Mr. Depp has other homes in Los Angeles and felt that “it was the right time to divest of that asset.” Los Angeles has seen several high-profile real estate sales in recent months.

-Wall Street Journal


rs_1024x683-160921134236-1024-johnny-depp-apt-cm-92116rs_1024x759-160921132820-1024-2johnny-depp-penthouse

 

52 Responses to “Johnny Depp Lists a Five-Penthouses”

  1. patisouto September 21, 2016 at 4:42 pm #

    Great news and very good. I was expecting it, it is your signal to clear the Amber demon forever ..

    • Andy September 21, 2016 at 4:54 pm #

      Everyone remember the purchase of the oil can chairs? Now we know he purchased them for the penthouse as seen in the photo around the table.

  2. Mebutnotme September 21, 2016 at 5:01 pm #

    Great news. Seems he is getting rid of what he no longer needs.

  3. ladiessfirst September 21, 2016 at 5:02 pm #

    Very nice. Here’s the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dfdww4s3Ly8

    No wonder those roaches didn’t want to leave.

    • overundersidewaysdown September 21, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

      Wow. Guess he wasn’t sharing the pool with the neighbors either. Amazing. Stunning views, beautiful surroundings. You are right no wonder they did not want to leave.

    • aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 6:58 pm #

      Does anybody understand the door situation? Supposedly it is all one condo, and he just added 3 doors: 1 for their living space, 1 for the art studio, and 1 for the guest suite. (Which was very smart for resale value.) So does that mean that Raquel and Scamber’s sister didn’t have doors on their apts.?

      • overundersidewaysdown September 21, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

        I wondered about that too but I don’t know the answer.

      • B September 21, 2016 at 7:16 pm #

        I think I read that it is 5 separate penthouses (lofts) but 3 adjacent units are interconnected by doors that they added into the walls and Johnny Depp lived in those 3 like they were all separate rooms in one large home. Then there was one unit that was a guest unit and then an art studio in another space as you stated.

        • aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

          Well I need to figure this out before I make my offer!

          • B September 21, 2016 at 8:36 pm #

            🙂 I know right! No wonder Scamber was pushing for marriage so she could divorce him and demand the penthouses. I still don’t know what idiot told her that she was going to get them in the divorce.

          • Sherilyn September 21, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

            If you get them, can I come live in Raquel’s space? I will practice my yoga so I can do it by the pool.

          • LilyS September 22, 2016 at 2:12 am #

            I can move into the art studio!! I need a space to finish all my work for the arts degree I’m studying LOL

      • Andy September 21, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

        No they have external doors. This doors were added internally

      • Sherilyn September 21, 2016 at 9:48 pm #

        Remember Raquel saying she had a key to open She-Devils door? So there had to be locking doors between spaces.

        • aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 11:25 pm #

          Thanks for clarifying.

          In any case, Sherilyn, if I do ‘get them’ you can certainly live in Raquel’s space but we need to sage the entire 12,000 SF first. And you cannot be dating a chef or shooting crotch coke. Rules are rules.

          • Sherilyn September 22, 2016 at 7:57 am #

            LMAO. That’s a deal, Aquagirl.

    • Frompariswithlove September 21, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

      Right ! I would not either. These girls were out of touch with reality.

      • aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 11:27 pm #

        They still are!

    • Jo32 September 22, 2016 at 10:50 am #

      Well I thought my parents were the only ones using color schemes like these! I love everything about it, excellent taste!

  4. overundersidewaysdown September 21, 2016 at 5:07 pm #

    Wow he has great taste. I love how he has decorated this space. I know that people help with styling and decorating but something tells me that he has a big hand in the choices. That mural is killer. Did the flying monkeys live there too? Really? Bet they never live that well again. Good.

  5. Sherilyn September 21, 2016 at 5:25 pm #

    Tim Burton did the one mural where the round table is. I would say Johnny decorated most of it. Very artistic.
    Johnny is wasting no time. Good for him. Stunning place to live tho.

    • intohim September 21, 2016 at 5:38 pm #

      Nice to see how the other half lives and nice to see Johnny’s personal taste. He wasn’t kidding, he’s really into vintage styling!!!

      • Andy September 21, 2016 at 5:43 pm #

        Lots of Indian / Moroccan style

    • overundersidewaysdown September 21, 2016 at 6:03 pm #

      Tim Burton. I remember when everything was a mess in the beginning Tim Burton came to see him and his eyes looked like he was so concerned for JD, like he had a real genuine concern for him. For some reason viewing this makes me very emotional. He is a good person.

  6. intohim September 21, 2016 at 5:31 pm #

    Yes, now is a good time to sell. At least in California. It is a seller’s market . Prices are through the roof right now!!! And it appears like he’s getting rid of bad memories…Scumcunt and the leach stunk up the place with bad memories !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. mud6352@gmail.com September 21, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

    veautiful place watched it earlier but glad He’s selling rid himself of the leeches and not nice memories

  8. aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 6:52 pm #

    I figured that he’d sell it (them) but I’m glad that he’s doing it so quickly. He seems to be a very keen investor.

    Hopefully Scamber has seen the listing too! So sad that we didn’t get to see move-out pictures. Where’s TMZ when you need them?

    So far this week, we’ve got:
    Johnny = +3 (charity award, new movie, selling the condos/getting rid of the past)
    Scamber = (-2) (she got photographed but she was wasted & looked like shit)

  9. aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 6:58 pm #

    Any guesses which one was the ‘marital bed’? I have my guess.

    • Maria84 September 21, 2016 at 7:23 pm #

      My guess is the room with red walls…but at the same time i don’t know if all the rooms were photographed , because we only see 3 rooms, i believe…

    • Andy September 21, 2016 at 9:12 pm #

      None of them. She doesn’t like peen

      • aquagirl10009 September 22, 2016 at 12:27 am #

        Oh, who am I kidding? I’d fuck him on the kitchen counter or better yet, the banquette, if I could only get him to brush his teeth first. Hate smoking😝.

  10. Frompariswithlove September 21, 2016 at 7:32 pm #

    I like his taste ! I think I will put my savings ( 😦 !!) into the French property…

    • aquagirl10009 September 21, 2016 at 11:33 pm #

      Paris,
      That’s great news! I’ve always wanted to meet you & I love France!
      A bientot!

      • Frompariswithlove September 22, 2016 at 2:30 am #

        Ahah. Right. I think Johnny should flight all the crew to Nice. I will arrange for a mini bus to take us to his village. Then we pay for food.

  11. Maria84 September 21, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

    what’s the use of all this beautiful places , when the essential is missing in his life…it makes me thing…money , fame, don’t mean happiness,

    • Frompariswithlove September 21, 2016 at 7:53 pm #

      I guess a constant call for more everything. See Maria, we’re lucky not to be rich !

      • Maria84 September 21, 2016 at 8:01 pm #

        haha, you’re right! there’s always a positive side!

    • aquagirl10009 September 22, 2016 at 12:38 am #

      I think we should start a new thread re: this on the forum. What makes people happy, what do we all yearn for/dream of…What we we be willing to give up to have it…I would do it now, but I was up late last night (new baby in the family!) and need to go to sleep. I started writing it here but it disappeared during the 12 texts that I just received. If anyone wants to start it LMK. It would be great to see other people starting topics! Right, Andy?

      • Andy September 22, 2016 at 8:42 pm #

        Yes

      • catburk September 23, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

        Sounds like a great idea.

  12. Sherilyn September 21, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

    Can you imagine what it costs to keep up all these properties? Oh my! My property taxes kill me, not to mention my summer electric bills! Uggh

    • aquagirl10009 September 22, 2016 at 2:00 am #

      In my first job out of grad school, I had a client that owned a yacht. One year, he invited a friend of mine and I to meet him in Cabo. Of course we said yes. Neither one of us had a lot of $, so we made it into a game. How little money could we spend for the trip? We both had frequent flyer miles and she worked in the magazine industry so we got free things given to us–we were very open about it–and had no qualms about asking. So I got free sunscreen, shampoo, makeup, etc., & she got everything from towels (that said Time magazine) to sunglasses, to bathing suits (she had a client that owned a bathing suit catalogue and they offered us each three bathing suits for free, the skimpiest shit that I’ve ever worn!) and on, and on and on. We were logo’d out! Oh, and it goes without saying, tons of reading material. Plus free CD’s from my BF who worked in the music industry. Our only expenses were going out to dinner or to bars, and half the time we didn’t even pay for that because the other guests on the yacht were so filthy rich that they just paid and wouldn’t accept our money.

      Great trip, but soon thereafter, he had to sell the yacht. Not because he couldn’t afford it, but because he couldn’t afford the GAS!

      You’re right Sherilyn, it’s the upkeep that kills you!

  13. Sherilyn September 22, 2016 at 8:22 am #

    That big beautiful kitchen. Mmmmm the meals I could cook in there. All the natural sunlight , I would have more than basil growing in there. Love to cook!

  14. branmuffin September 22, 2016 at 1:56 pm #

    Lots of messed up memories there for sure…I’d sell too…start fresh….

  15. overundersidewaysdown September 22, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

    As private a person as he has always been it is interesting that he has chosen to make this such a public listing.

    Is this the same place where she recorded that awful phone vid? If so this is a genius move. The listing vid clears the air and leaves a beautiful memory. Kind of wipes her and the slate clean.

    If it isn’t the same place then I’m off on this one.

    • Andy September 22, 2016 at 8:45 pm #

      I think the vid was the Hollywood hills house. The kitchen doesn’t match the castle

      • overundersidewaysdown September 22, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

        I wondered about that. Still leaves a better memory than that awful vid.

      • aquagirl10009 September 23, 2016 at 3:19 am #

        Agree. Different kitchen entirely. However, these pics makes it abundantly clear that if he was in the kitchen and she was in the LR, screaming that he was abusing her….it’s more than laughable. This space is huge! Wish Jerry & team took photos.

        But, all said, congrats, Johnny for moving on.

  16. aquagirl10009 September 23, 2016 at 5:30 am #

    Dear Crew,
    As we all know, Andy has stated that this blog will come to an end @ some point. I would encourage you all to join the Forum. Lots of stuff about Scamber, but also you can really post on any topic. Just look at the headlines & the various posts for guidance, I post quite frequently, but it’s sort of like singing in the shower if nobody responds to me. To whet your appetite: our newest post is about Angelina & Brad….can’t say more…you just need to check it out!
    AG

  17. AliceTheBee September 23, 2016 at 11:58 am #

    I’ve read on celewitchy that Amber the turd is broke and now has to saty with her “friends”.

    • B September 23, 2016 at 3:39 pm #

      I thought so. So that is why she is wearing the same clothes over and over again. What happened to her ‘bestie” Raquel?

  18. catburk September 23, 2016 at 3:40 pm #

    It was just a matter of time before he unloaded this property. It’s absolutely beautiful.

    I wonder where all of the free loaders are living? Any place else they could afford would be a dump compared to this place.

    Hoping that JD is finding inner peace with each step he takes to rid himself of that money hungry, narcissistic woman and her free loading friends.

Comments are closed.

