Help If You Can

16 Sep

Temp post

At least visit the link and read, there have been some horrible comments from people. They assume Kim, and husband had a lot of money, and are quick to be very hateful. Kim and her husband lost everything in Katrina, and have struggled for years financially. She worked as a customer service employee. Please try to help if you can.

Maybe tweet this to those who were in the movie over on Twitter. Maybe they could help with a few dollars as well.

 

P.S. Update: the amount raised at this point – isn’t even enough for a decent cremation. Please spread the word.

 

https://www.gofundme.com/2p3nudws

7 Responses to “Help If You Can”

  1. aquagirl10009 September 16, 2016 at 5:53 pm #

    I have to admit that when I first heard about the go-fund-me-page, I wondered why it was set up. I knew that after her acting career she became a lawyer and I also figured that someone her age would have life insurance. So it didn’t make sense to me. It stated that it would pay for funeral expenses and also help her husband with other expenses — it almost came across as though people were being asked to support her husband.

    When I researched it, I found out that they had lost everything in Katrina, had moved to Mississippi, then Florida and had been struggling ever since. To her friend who started the campaign, don’t bury the lead! State up front exactly why the funds are so necessary. Then you wouldn’t get so many negative comments.

    • Andy September 16, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

      Eh, we live in a society of rude people, no she didn’t state it up front, but asking and being considerate before posting nasty comments is good manners.

  2. aquagirl10009 September 16, 2016 at 8:58 pm #

    I agree that we live in a world of rude people. That’s why I took the time to research Kim’s situation.

    Unfortunately, we also live in a world of greedy people. I’ve seen several go-fund-me-pages for funerals where I actually know the people and I know their financial situations. They can definitely afford to pay for the funeral but choose to use others contributions to pay for it instead. And BTW, none of the deceased where I’ve seen this happen have dependents. (This has occurred twice in the past year.) Needless to say, in those cases, I don’t contribute and I don’t attend the funeral. I don’t even send a card (and trust me, I’m probably one of the only people who keeps card companies in business,) I stop by a church, light a candle, say a prayer, and give the money that I would’ve donated, were it really necessary, to the next homeless person that I encounter on the street.

    • branmuffin September 17, 2016 at 4:11 pm #

      Yup…I’ve experienced slight of hand with Go Fund Me situations, and from “PEOPLE I KNOW”.

      One started a page for her dogs medical expenses. Needless to say she took the money and went on a European vacation.

      Another hit me up for money to help with her film trailer. She shelved the project and never returned or said anything about the money……….

  3. branmuffin September 17, 2016 at 4:06 pm #

    Very thoughtful of posting this, Andy 🙂

  4. aquagirl10009 September 18, 2016 at 12:35 am #

    So how long do you thnk it will take for Scamber to post a go-fund-me page? ‘I lost $7million plus my condo and people don’t want to seem to hire me anymore. I need $10 million and I need it within the next two days. If you don’t contribute within the next two days, I will make up lies about you and you will regret it.’

    • Andy September 18, 2016 at 12:51 am #

      Only time you’ll see it go negative

Comments are closed.

