Winona Speaks

27 Jun

Winona Ryder Defends Ex Johnny Depp: He Was ‘Never Abusive at All Towards Me’

Ryder, 44, said Depp, 53, was “never abusive at all” during their four-year relationship.

“I can only speak from my own experience, which was wildly different than what is being said,” Ryder told Time. “He was never, never that way towards me. Never abusive at all towards me. I only know him as a really good, loving, caring guy who is very, very protective of the people that he loves.”

While Ryder acknowledged that their relationship was “a long time ago,” she said she’s never seen the actor act out violently.

“I wasn’t there. I don’t know what happened. I’m not calling anyone a liar. I’m just saying, it’s difficult and upsetting for me to wrap my head around it. Look, it was a long time ago, but we were together for four years, and it was a big relationship for me,” she said. “Imagine if someone you dated when you were – I was 17 when I met him – was accused of that. It’s just shocking. I have never seen him be violent toward a person before.”

“It’s just hard to picture. The only word I can come up with is unimaginable. You know with certain people you hear something and go, ‘I can see that.’ But this isn’t that,” she continued.

Also more here:
30 Responses to “Winona Speaks”

  1. GQ June 27, 2016 at 3:23 pm #

    Thank you, Winona. What took you so long???

    • Monkee June 27, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

      We’ve created a taboo around questioning women and children when they claim to be victims of abuse. She was still careful in how she worded her defense of Depp, but perhaps she had a hard time crossing the line from neutral observer to defender because 1. people just don’t come out and say things against a “victim” and 2. she has moved on with her life, probably didn’t see what she had to add at first.

      • LZ June 27, 2016 at 9:25 pm #

        Good points.

  2. Elizabeth June 27, 2016 at 3:34 pm #

    In the begining all the turd supporters were clamouring for Winona to speak up about the abuse she must have suffered at Johnny’s hand! Well, now she has, i wonder if they will not accept this as they have not accepted anyone speaking up in support of Johnny? I am guessing they will now demand Kate Moss to speak up. Goodness gracious turd, I guess you really under estimated the love people have for Johnny. She never feared him like all of your supporters tried to convince us.
    Winona was always my girl crush in the 90’s and she remains my girl crush. I think she deserve a big old high five for speaking out.

  3. Judy Latty June 27, 2016 at 3:39 pm #

    I don’t think , she will find anyone that says Johnny Depp is abusive…….he has only been kind, loyal, loving, and caring…..she’s off her rocker!!! Kate Moss is still in love with him..

  4. mud6352@gmail.com June 27, 2016 at 3:47 pm #

    Yup good luck bitch ass amanda not gonna work

  5. JL June 27, 2016 at 4:31 pm #

    Another strike … Poor ole Amber is loosing ground fast. Moss to a degree spoke out before all this in the past about how wonderful Depp was to her but I would still like her to speak now. I love how Winona phrased it Unimaginable.. That is pure gold. Go Winona, Go Winona.

    😄

  6. Awaiting my escape June 27, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

    And now all the “Winona’s experience doesnt mean anything” articles. They will try to dismiss her claims by calling ger crazy.

    • Elizabeth June 28, 2016 at 1:46 pm #

      They are already coming, the huff post just posted one, and it is being wildly shut down in the comments. The same thing happened when amber’s arrest for DV in 2009 came out, a bunch of articles came out about how her past isn’t relevant. They took an abuser and down played her behaviour, that is seriously f’ed up. It is either all relevant on both sides or it isn’t, you don’t get to pick and choose. A couple commenters on the huff post article (and I use that term loosely), did try to bring in Winona’s past to try and discredit her. You bang on with that!

      • ade June 28, 2016 at 2:22 pm #

        In Amber’s RO request, she stated “Johnny has a long-held and widely acknowledged public and private history of drug and alcohol abuse. He has a short fuse” She is making reference to the past so why is her supporters refusing to accept the statement of anyone from Johnny’s past.
        This statement was what made to know that she is lying and wanted to use his past to hurt him

        • Elizabeth June 28, 2016 at 2:36 pm #

          Exactly! And those that are still clinging to the ” it is the drugs and alcohol that have made him abusive” theory, he was as drugged up and as into alcohol, possibly even more so, when he was with Winona and still didn’t abuse her so that is no longer a valid argument.

  7. Me June 27, 2016 at 5:27 pm #

    This is great. I think Ambers church visit was a AA or NA meeting and she’s prepping for her “The drugs and/or alcohol made me crazy and think things happened that didn’t but I am getting help for my addiction” story.

  8. ASRebirth June 27, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

    I’m really sad that she felt afraid to come out and say anything because of Amber and her network of crazies. That’s what took so long. She probably figured that the slumlords of the media that’s supporting Amber will drag her past through the mud. Yes, make people afraid to tell the truth.

    • Hey Ya June 28, 2016 at 2:15 am #

      After what she has been through with being ridiculed for the shoplifting and basically being blackballed for years in the industry, I’m really surprised she said anything. I’m sure her management was nervous about it. I wonder if this is an indication of things moving positively in Wasser’s direction with the legal stuff? Because I think it was risky for her to do this. i know a lot of people who will trash her for this and her career is too delicate for negative publicity right now.
      From my point of view, its obvious that Amber is lying, but I am still worried about how all this will turn out.

  9. J June 27, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

    Whats effing amazing is that almost EVERYONE Johnny has had an intimate relationship or close relationship with has stood up for him showing his character loud and clear. But the feminist don’t want to hear it or see it because it would mean they are backing the wrong person, smfh. Amber is making the ones that back her look like fools because she is a girl (she’s no lady/woman) scorned. August can’t come soon enough. Wasser is going show the talentless amber what its like in REAL court. No more “get out of jail free” cards HAHAAA Did you see the write up on Huff Post? The Stephanie writer is pro Chupa, had to wash my eyes after reading that sh!t piece blah.

    • Monkee June 27, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

      Sure, there were some “feminists” that spoke up for Amber, but I do not think feminism has anything to do with this story. Most victim’s rights people initially said “if these allegations are true”, but the more Amber leaks information the less credible she has become. I don’t hear any victim’s rights groups clamoring doe Depp’s head. In fact, they’ve been very quiet, unfortunately for Amber, she hasn’t been. Activists against domestic violence know that abusers often claim to be victims and that domestic violence is not gendered. Amber didn’t realize this when she concocted her lie, she didn’t realize DV experts have seen her ilk more times then they care to recount.

      • J June 27, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

        Oops, my bad, I should have clarified that indeed SOME feminist came to her defense but not all. It was THAT article I was referring to in the Huff Post and the writer was pro amber and made it sound like all of the people coming to Johnnys defense would not matter to the courts but made it sound as if ambers friends would? Just irked me that the writer probably has NO idea what amber is capable of. Oh how I wish SOMEONE from her camp came forward with the truth about what she was scheming That would shut them “amberlievers” up once and for all. I understand it may not seem like a total feminist issue but there are some commenters on the rags that are quick to point out that they are feminist, so I was referring to them in particular;-) Sorry if I offended thee.

        • Monkee June 27, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

          Huffington Post has many less than credible people writing blog entries for them. Some of them do not have a very tenuous connection to journalism or any expertise on things they write about. Jezabel is one I think of as pro-Amber and anti Depp that has major feminist leanings. There are all sort of feminism out there. There’s the Taylor Swift kind (I don’t have much respect for her or her brand of feminism) and then there is the Emma Watson kind. The Emma Watson kind wants to create a world that is equitable for everyone, the Taylor Swift kind sees feminism as an exclusive girl club where girls stick up for each other because “girl power”. I am a feminist, but I am more of the Emma Watson kind.

    • Neeners June 27, 2016 at 8:44 pm #

      I’m a proud feminist and make no apologies for it. I’m supporting JD or at least reserving judgment and I’ve never crushed on JD. In fact, if anything, I’ve always admired him for the wonderful women (sans Amber) that he managed to have a relationship with.

  10. overundersidewaysdown June 27, 2016 at 7:52 pm #

    The truth is that people like the chupa are scary so I commend Winona Ryder for speaking out. They just keep coming and coming and coming at you. When someone wrote that AH “charged’ JD I thought she is really true to type.

    The difference is that most people have some sort of moral compass that will tell them wait a minute that’s going too far but I do not believe AH has that sort of compass.

    Over 20 years can be accounted for just by the people who have spoken up so far. 20 years!!
    I hope Wasser really has something up her sleeve too.

  11. LZ June 27, 2016 at 10:03 pm #

    Can’t help but wonder if the article is People’s way of making a U-turn on this issue. Nonetheless, it’s nice of WR to defend JD. I liked them as a couple, and was a bit disappointed that their marriage never happened, reportedly due to Cher’s advice. Wish they’d be in a movie again. Oh, well…

    The schmuck should’ve just settled for what JD was willing to give her without fabricating other stuff. It’s his wealth, anyway. He worked (and still works) hard to acquire what he’s got.

  12. usnpup June 28, 2016 at 4:37 pm #

    Good quote from Alice Cooper about Johnny:

    • LZ June 28, 2016 at 10:00 pm #

      I’d like to think AH is now regretting what she’s done, but still doesn’t have the balls to admit it. She’s one lucky woman with JD who – in spite of his flaws – doesn’t engage in mudslinging. Obviously, he didn’t pay Alice Cooper to say that and others as well who have defended him, but AH’s herd would always point out to his (JD) PR team.

      Hats off to JD for still being gentle with the woman who didn’t (or doesn’t) deserve to be called his second wife in the first place.

  13. sadforjd June 28, 2016 at 10:39 pm #

    It’s great that Winona has come out in Johnny’s defense and she knows Turdy. ..they were in informers together.
    I truly hope Johnny fights this bitch but I’m sure her lawyer has already coached her in her defense. I bet they, meaning her family will come to say she mentally ill and that johnny knows about her illness. They will get depp to support her through her treatment and now that she’s exposed she won’t be able to work for a living.
    He being the nice guy will give a shit load of money. ..she will in some why win. She doesn’t get that she has already lost …stupid bitch.

    • overundersidewaysdown June 28, 2016 at 10:51 pm #

      I did not know that Winona knew AH personally.

      • Andy June 28, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

        How to land johnny depp

        • overundersidewaysdown June 29, 2016 at 12:41 am #

          Thanks I will read that article.

  14. Frompariswithlove June 29, 2016 at 2:32 am #

    Right LZ. One has to carefully handle the U-turn.
    AdC has deleted her FB posts on AH.
    It’s getting more and more of a “cul-de-sac” for team Amber.

Comments are closed.

