Amber Heard Opens Up for the First Time About Her Marriage to Johnny Depp: “Nothing Is a Dramatic Change”

9 Jun

Two reasons revealed in this interview by Amber Heard herself, on WHY it will NOT last with Johnny Depp:

 

The 29-year-old actress married Johnny Depptwice!—in February, and for the first time ever, she discusses their marriage in Elle‘s July issue. “Nothing is a dramatic change. We’ve been together for a long time now, so it’s been a fairly organic process,” Heard insists. “I have a fiercely independent spirit.”

Regarding her husband, she adds, “I fall in love again and again.”

Heard is hesitant to tell the magazine too much more about her personal life, as she’d prefer to keep that part of her life private. “The thing that really scares me is the potential of losing my freedom,” the star says of becoming increasingly famous. “I never want for my life to lose the ability to transverse the world, with freedom and ease—the freedom and ease I have worked so hard to acquire for myself.”

Additionally, Heard would rather talk about her career than her relationship.

Being beautiful and married to one the biggest stars in the world might sound like a dream come true, but it presents a unique set of challenges. “I feel like I’m constantly fighting against my exterior, or this exterior presentation of myself because of how I look or perhaps because of who I’m with,” Heard says.

The actress is also bothered by the dearth of female roles in Hollywood.

“I get a stack of scripts, like, once a month, and most of the time, you find these placeholder girls that are there to provide a bounce for the male character. So we know he’s funny because she’s serious and she’s mad at him. We know he’s strong because she needs saving. So really her job is to validate this personality trait of our hero or male,” says Heard, who stars in Magic Mike XXL alongside Matt Bomer, Joe Manganiello, Kevin Nash, Adam Rodriguez and Channing Tatum. “I mean, we’re trying to imitate life, and it seems to me a deeply saddening injustice that we are so uncreative and uninterested in developing representations of female life.”

15 Responses to “Amber Heard Opens Up for the First Time About Her Marriage to Johnny Depp: “Nothing Is a Dramatic Change””

  1. Andrew June 9, 2015 at 1:40 pm #

    Lotta code talk in this article. independent and freedom, are code for 1. I don’t want to give up partying or sleeping with whom I want. 2. Glad to see she said nothing changed from getting married. We knew it wouldn’t. 3. Even though she makes a reference to her looks or being pretty she follows it with, OR WHO I’M WITH. She’s starting to recognize. Or rather she’s not in denial about it any longer.

  2. Andrew June 9, 2015 at 2:01 pm #

    Someone get me a closer view of that portrait she’s painting on the “roof”

  3. findingdepp June 9, 2015 at 2:03 pm #

    “We’ve been together for a long time now” HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAhAHHAHA!

  4. Andrew June 9, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

    ^ I know. Silly. However here’s something everyone should read. All this bullshit and the flack I get for pointing out the obvious with Amber Turd.

    • Jdfan June 9, 2015 at 4:02 pm #

      ^Exactly. People just want to live in in denial pretending everything is just fine instead of seeing the real truth which is obvious to everyone who has their eyes open. Really sad.

    • sad for jd June 9, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

      The funny thing is that most people still don’t know who she is…even with Johnny. …they still don’t know who she is and most of the people who do …don’t like her.
      IMO, she gets most of her attention from people who dislike her…mostly Depp fans.
      They are literally shoving her down our throats…I think making a bad situation worst.
      Her looks are fading fast…Depp is aging rapidly. .. she should just give up. If they actually love each other, their PR people should just GIVE UP….Depp should go back to be private and AH should follow suit and stop with the leaks and rumors ….
      I guess it didn’t take long for her to get her face out there and back it media….I hope Elle doesn’t sell many copies so others don’t put her on their cover…

  5. designsondepp June 9, 2015 at 4:08 pm #

    American Hustle, Zero Dark Thirty, The Help…beautiful women; great roles. Stack of scripts monthly? The only thing you could possibly get monthly is even debatable; not sure you have the right equipment.

    • Liz June 9, 2015 at 4:18 pm #

      Yes, they’re out there! The problem is there are so few and the women who are worthy of them are fighting like hell to nab them so of course someone like Amber is left with the shitty scraps. She’s not proven herself worthy.

      Frankly I’m starting to wonder if she’s trying to be more like Johnny in the sense that for much of his career he did films that flopped at the box office. Of course the major difference, his were beautiful, unique and generally critically acclaimed. But perhaps another case of Amber trying to mold herself to someone else’s path. Oh but of course she wouldn’t do that, she’s Mrs. Independent (never Mrs. Depp.)

  6. Liz June 9, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

    I’m reposting my comment here…. cause yeah I completely agree, she’s showing her hand now.

    Oh gag me. She really should shut the hell up already.

    And this crap..“I feel like I’m constantly fighting against….this exterior presentation of myself…… because of who I’m with…I have a fiercely independent spirit.”

    So she made it clear… she’s a presentation and part of that is who she’s with. That says a lot right there. Also, she’s clearly never going to “settle down” and be truly committed to him. This one might actually break him.

    Oh but I do feel really sorry for her and this deeply felt internal torture she endures with her exterior. I mean, it really must have been difficult for her to slip into a barely there bodysuit and pose for cameras for the cover of a magazine. Gee Amber, will you be able to sleep at night now??

    Also “I fall in love again and again.” Sounding like a teenager here. Lasting relationships are built on something more solid than that fleeting feeling.

  7. Jdfan June 9, 2015 at 4:15 pm #

    The reason she doesn’t get roles with substance is because she is a horrible actress. Hollywood knows it so of course they are not going to offer her roles like that.

    • sad for jd June 9, 2015 at 5:06 pm #

      Well said….she’s not going to be offered Oscar winning material BECAUSE SHE CAN’T ACT.
      She can try and compare herself to Johnny but she hasn’t done anything interesting. ..now saying that I haven’t seen her last 2 films…and the last 3 are not out yet..
      I would venture to say that most of her films have been viewed recently by depp fans or people who know she depp’s wife and are curious about her…I know I went and watched a few of her movies so I could form my own opinion of her acting. She basically plays the cute, sluty girlfriend or want to be girlfriend. ..the only time is acts well is when she is basically playing herself…the narcissistic bimbo.
      Lastly, the sad thing is…I watched pineapple express and playboy club and didn’t remember her. ..didn’t dawn on me that I had seen her before.
      When it came out she was with johnny…of course TRD was talked about …I didn’t know her name but did remember her character. ..but other than TRD, Zombie land was her claim to fame. ..so I watched it ….her part was minor and was only 5 minutes long…very sad.
      Seriously in my opinion…she best roles was in TRD…she’s was a narcissistic arm candy bimbo who used whoever she could…removing the end note at the end of the movie that kemp and chenault hooked up and lived happily ever after…she basically lost her rich boyfriend, kemp got layed, she stole his money and bolted…and he got screwed over period…
      Amber has rich and famous partner, she screws around on him, will take him from all she can, try use his name to make her rich and famous and will bury him or screw him over and leave him for another…

  8. Minnie1 June 9, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

    Liz–it doesn’t exactly mention who she falls in love with. I think it was an interesting choice of words: I fall in love again and again.

    • sad for jd June 9, 2015 at 5:08 pm #

      Minnie …good catch…it’s implied but your are so very right.
      I think she only in love with herself.

  9. Mango June 10, 2015 at 12:51 am #

    She doesn’t want to tell because anything she said would be a lie she would have to word her way around…

  10. Periscope June 10, 2015 at 7:18 am #

    She falls in love again and again. Therefore, methinks, she falls out of love again and again. Wrong. She never has, nor ever will, know true love or the falling in or out of it. The only love she can be said to have is of herself and she will never fall out of love with that person. There is nothing in her life other than self. Even her closest friends are ditched on a whim if they don’t suit her mood of the day. I am sure she would call this “individualism” or “uniqueness”. In reality these are the ideals of all those of low intelligence who seek the ultimate in narcissistic self-fulfilment. Screw you all – I am the only person on this planet who counts. Believe it if it gives you succour girl.

Comments are closed.

