Amber’s Tribeca Interview

22 Apr

Q: You must be proud of this project in particular. It’s so refreshing to see you in a role where you’re not sexualized at all.

A: I’ve been in this business for 12 years or something and it’s incredible frustrating to be able to just now be trusted or given roles like this because this industry’s very hard on women, because you’re constantly asked to choose between one of two archetypes sexy or not

Q: For years now you’ve chosen “sexy.” Why did you make that choice?

A: I wasn’t allowed to choose.

—jump to end of her long diatribe-

To Robert Edwards’ credit, I met with him like you and I are meeting and said, “I will work my ass off to learn to sing”—

Q:You never sang before, right? Or played the guitar?

Never

You have a beautiful voice. 

Thanks. It’s not that amazing. I never sang before, I thought I was tone deaf. And I told him, “I think I’m tone deaf? Give it a shot, fire me, if I’m terrible fire me, but I want to do this role and I want it to be my voice. I don’t it to be…”

Auto-tuned.

Yeah, or dubbed. And so I went to singing lessons, guitar lessons, piano lessons, everyday and worked my ass off for hours everyday for months.

You’re a big advocate for the LGBT community, having come out as bisexual a while back. This film deals centers on an artist, Eddie Redmayne, who is famous for getting one of the first known gender-reassignment surgeries. Did you LGBT activism play a role in your desire to make “The Danish Girl”?

“I’m seeking roles that challenge me and that are compelling.” Amber Heard

There were many aspects to doing this project that I was compelled by. Tom Hooper is one my favorite filmmakers. Eddie Redmayne is one of the most talented actors of my generation. That’s to undersell him. I was excited to work with Alicia, she’s incredible talented. I have this amazing cast and this era that I’m incredible fascinated by. I love art, I love the surrealism, especially. So this era is compelling to me. All of these things combined. And it’s story about heart and love between two people and identity as well and it just so happens to be also an LGBT issue. It’s a story surrounding some of the intimate issues within the LBGT community. Discrimination, identity, family relationships love, all these things within the context of a society. All of these things within a society that doesn’t accept that. Somebody undergoing a sex change to fully realize themselves is incredibly compelling for me. I’m obviously a major advocate for equality and as a member of the LGBT community I am honored to be able to be part of a story that represents a part of that struggle and that life.

It’s such an important story. 

It is. It’s an issue facing so many people today. And as a socio-sexual experiment, it’s fascinating that we get to talk about previously conceived notions of gender. What fascinates me is it can be part of the conversation because of technology — and when I say technology I mean in the medical field as well. This is a relatively new possibility to change gender. So it opens up a whole new conversation that’s fascinating to me about what it is to be male or female or to live in a world with a two party system. Where you have up until recently one of two options, and it wasn’t an option. Now it opens up a conversation. It’s fascinating. And we’re now starting to be able to separate gender identity from sexual preference and with the growing acceptance of sexual fluidity and the growing possibility of gender fluidity.

There’s always been gay people. That’s a fact. And I’m not trying to say that having ambiguous gender identity, I’m not saying that’s new. Look at the Greek culture, that’s fairly recent too in the span of human culture, but to actively be able to change it in this way…awesome.

http://www.indiewire.com/article/tribeca-amber-heard-is-done-being-hollywoods-sex-object-20150422

6 Responses to “Amber’s Tribeca Interview”

  1. Adrienne April 22, 2015 at 4:08 pm #

    “I play Oola Paulson and she’s a ballet dancer in 1920’s Copenhagen.”
    “I have this amazing cast and this era that I’m incredible fascinated by. I love art, I love the surrealism, especially. So this era is compelling to me. All of these things combined. ”

    Well, Amber, my heart, we all know you are a (fake) blonde, but you really never ever fail to provide an opportunity to prove it. First of all Surrealism didn’t reach Denmark before the 1930ies. They are far up in the North, so it took things a little while to reach there from France. Secondly, neither Lili Elbe nor Gerda Wegener are considered surrealist artists even though they lived in Paris during that time. Elbe was an ordinairy painter of sceneries and Wegener ‘s style is considered Art Deco and not Surrealism. I’m sorry Amber dear, nice try but epic fail, … again. Next time you should get someone that summerises all these heavy and complicated books for you into a nice comic, reading level kindergarten class. And honey, everybody loves Dali and Magritte, nothing to boast over.

    So maybe casting you as the sexy blonde with few lines wasn’t such a mistake after all?

  2. Minnie1 April 22, 2015 at 6:02 pm #

    Adrienne–thank you for a much needed laugh. She tries to sound soooo intellectual, but it comes out as all pretenious B.S. I’ m thinking that she stunned Johnny into submission by taking drivel at him for hours on end.

    • Adrienne April 22, 2015 at 11:13 pm #

      The entire interview is nothing but pretentious BS, one doesn’t know where to start.

  3. Jas April 22, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    Adrienne, what an absolute thing of beauty!

  4. LaraB April 22, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    Well said, Adrienne! Also ‘and we’re now starting to be able to separate gender identity from sexual preference’. Who buys into that??? Sexual identity, not preference. We grow into that after all. No one ‘prefers’ to be bi, hereto or gay, or else they are not legitimate. Can gays prefer to be hetero now?
    What kind of bisexual says that? Hasn’t she ever read current theories in her field of interest?? Hello!!

  5. LaraB April 22, 2015 at 10:05 pm #

    What bother me the most about Amber is that she tries to play smart when she is dumb!

Comments are closed.

